YPS Science Prize

This award was founded by John Hampshire. It is awarded to a  sixth-former from Yorkshire. Winners are chosen from those who have taken part in the Nuffield partnership scheme, and demonstrated the posters describing their work in the Yorkshire Museum.


In 2020 Covid-19 restrictions impeded or prevented the work of potential winners of YPS awards and grants. It is hoped to make awards in 2021.

In 2019 there were 4 winners, each given £25:
Kiera Ahmed, Garforth Academy, Leeds and Romae Grierson-Copeland, Abbey grange C of E Academy, for their  project “Theory of heating in nanoparticles systems in magnetic hyperthermia”, and
Emily Ellison, Woldgate School, Pocklington, and Kayleigh Willoughby, New College Pontefract, for their  project “Galactic hydrogen line profiling”

In 2018 there were 2 winners, each given £25:
Nicole Taylor, Scarborough Sixth Form College, and Taranveer Singh Sabharwal, Allerton High School Leeds, for their project ‘Aperture synthesis in radio interferometry’

In 2017, the first year of the prize, the winners, each given £25:
Tanvi Kishore, Heckmondwike Grammar School, and James Chapman, Richmond School, for their poster ‘Measuring the mass of dark matter in the Milky Way’; and Layla Abbot, Elliott Hudson College, Leeds, and Olwyn Read, Harrogate Grammar School, for their poster ‘Flow visualisation using Schlieren optics’