Charles Wellbeloved Award

This award is made annually by the Society. It is given to the final year undergraduate in the Department of Archaeology at the University of York who, in the University’s view, has submitted the best dissertation on an archaeological subject during the year.

The 2020 prize of £200 was awarded to
Yannick Signer for his undergraduate dissertation, “Agricultural change in early medieval Yorkshire: a landscape approach”.
Charles Wellbeloved Prize 2020. Abstract

The 2019 prize of £200 was awarded to Hannah Andrews for her undergraduate dissertation “Searching for symbolism: a re-examination of the Neanderthal burial record
Charles Wellbeloved Prize 2019. Abstract

In 2018, there were 2 winners, each awarded £200 (part University funded):
Elizabeth Hicks for her undergraduate dissertation “The gendered household: making space for women in the study of Islamic archaeology in Quatar

Evy Rousham  for her undergraduate dissertation “Frailty and periosteal reactions: a study of periosteal lesion activity and dental enamel hypoplastia trends at St James’ Abbey, Northampton
Charles Wellbeloved Prize 2018. Joint winners’ abstracts

The 2017 prize of £200 was awarded to Kevin Claxton for his undergraduate dissertation entitled “The archaeology of an English Civil War battlefield: what can the analysis of small finds contribute to the understanding of the Battle of Cheriton?
Charles Wellbeloved Prize 2017. Abstract

The 2016 prize was awarded to Stuart Henderson for his undergraduate dissertation entitled ‘A revolution in sheep’s clothing: a review of the changes in sheep farming and management techniques in eighteenth and nineteenth century England’.
Charles Wellbeloved Prize 2016. Abstract

The 2015 prize was awarded to Blessing Chidimuro for her dissertation, which received the highest mark in her cohort: “Assessing the effectiveness of using bone apatite in palaeodietary reconstructions: Bone mineral stable isotope analysis of individuals from England, Spain and Italy”.
Charles Wellbeloved prize 2015. Abstract

The 2014 prize was awarded to Alexandra Martin-Geary for her undergraduate dissertation entitled “Bone of Contention, ‘Treponema Pallidum’: a literature and analysis.”
Charles Wellbeloved Prize 2014. Abstract

Award winners 2014: Alexandra Martin-Geary (centre-L) and Rose Harris Adams (centre-R for Herman Ramm award), with Prof. John Schofield, Jim Spriggs, Stephen Lusty and Jim Matthew.

The 2013 prize of £200 was awarded jointly:
To Bridy Parsons for her dissertation “Britain’s use of horses during World War One: To what extent can we use the evidence available to determine the impact of remount mobilisation upon Britain?

And to Flo Laino for her dissertation “Gifting and intimate personal relationships in Viking Age Scandinavian society c800-1100 AD.”

The 2012 prize was awarded to Callum Reilly  for his dissertation  “Identity and commemoration in a Cornish churchyard

The 2011 award of £100 went to Andrew Marriott for “The origins of St Mary’s Church, Colton Bassett“.

The 2010 award of £100 went to James Fish for “Pre-Columbian contacts between Polynesia and the Americas“.